About Us


The Catholic Foundation is an independent, nonprofit corporation that helps support a wide-range of needs throughout the Diocese of Pueblo. The Catholic Foundation was established in 1995 by Bishop Arthur N. Tafoya and the Board of Directors of the former Catholic Foundation of Southern Colorado.

The Catholic Foundation expanded its mission and purpose in 2001. In an effort to touch more lives, a grant program was initiated. This program supports parishes, rural missions, Catholic schools and other Catholic organizations.

Bishop Arthur N. Tafoya, 1933-2018


The Catholic Foundation strives to be a catalyst for charitable giving by encouraging a fruitful partnership between individual donors and the many Catholic organizations serving the faithful throughout the Diocese.

The Catholic Foundation continues to manage and grow the Seminarian Burse Endowment which funds provide long-term support for formation and education for seminarians including prospective seminarians.

The Catholic Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the Bishop and consists of clergy and lay people who represent the diverse geographical areas of the Diocese. They have distinguished themselves through their church, business, civic or volunteer activities. The Board is responsible for the fiscal management, corporate governance and strategic planning for the future.

An Executive Director and Executive Assistant administer and oversee general operations.

The Catholic Foundation does not receive any funding from the annual Advancing Missionary Discipleship (AMD) assessment on parishes.

Catholic Foundation funds are monitored by the Board of Directors and managed through a number of investment relationships.  The primary investment vehicle is the Mission Diocese Fund, LLC, as administered by the time-honored Catholic Extension Society.

The Catholic Foundation is allowed the group tax exemption held by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops under Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(3).  The Catholic Foundation is registered and in good standing with the Colorado Secretary of State’s office.

An independent audit or review is performed annually to ensure the integrity of the Catholic Foundation’s financial activities. An IRS Form 990 is available for public inspection at the Catholic Foundation offices, located in the diocesan Catholic Pastoral Center.

Current Annual Report

Available as PDFs. 

Past Annual Reports



Most Rev. Stephen J. Berg, D.D.
Bishop of Pueblo


Ms. Kathy Menck, Chairperson
St. Ann, Palisade

Ms. Silvia Arias, Vice Chairperson
Sacred Heart, Alamosa

Ms. Karen Hinojos, Secretary
St. Joseph, Capulin

Mr. James Duff, Treasurer
St. Therese, Vineland



Ms. Laura Solano
Shrine of St. Therese, Pueblo

Rev. Henry Wertin
St. Joseph, Grand Junction

Col. Louis Simpleman
Holy Trinity, Trinidad

Ms. Nancy Long
St. Mary, Las Animas

Mr. James Kramer
Christ the King, Pueblo


We welcome Mr. James Kramer as the newest member to the Catholic Foundation Board of Directors. Mr. Kramer has been appointed to serve a three year term, effective January 2022 and continuing through our annual meeting in 2025. A parishioner of Christ the King, and a 4th Degree Honor Guard with the Knights of Columbus, we are grateful to Mr. Kramer for agreeing to take time from his busy schedule to serve on the Board of Directors. We look forward to his input and guidance as we strive to serve as the Giving Arm of the Diocese.




Mr. Steven S. Chargin- Cathedral of the Sacred Heart, Pueblo
Executive Director
schargin@dioceseofpueblo.org | 719-544-9861 ext. 1131

Ms. Delores Montaño- St. Joseph Parish, Pueblo
Executive Assistant
dmontano@dioceseofpueblo.org | 719-544-9861 ext. 1132